Sweaty Dancer

I went dancing at the Elks Lodge in Hasbrouck Heights Friday, March 18th. I was super tired and really didn’t feel like going, which has been the case for the last 2 years, but I forced myself to go and I’m so glad I did.

God truly blessed me with such a fun night of dancing, especially since I will not be able to go next Friday, March 25th, which is also Good Friday, as well as my birthday. I will not be able to go dancing at the Elks because they will not have a dance due to the holiday.

I danced so much that my blouse and cami were completely soaked from sweating so much! I haven’t sweat that much since my early days of dancing at You Should Be Dancing in New York City, and even then, I don’t recall ever sweating through 2 tops. This is proof that you should never underestimate your elders…

People often ask me why I go to the Elks to dance and the answer is quite simple…because the men there are the only ones brave enough to ask me to dance. I tried many times to go to dance socials hosted by local dance studios in North Jersey and would spend the entire night sitting in a chair because nobody would ask me to dance. I’m old fashioned, I like to be asked to dance. If the man is going to lead me on the dance floor, he has to start by asking me to dance.

It was not like this when I used to go to You Should Be Dancing in New York City, perhaps because the swing dance community is different or at least it was back in the days when I went to their East Coast Swing dances. They always had an awesome live band and believe me, there is nothing like dancing to a live band!!!

Anyway, I truly believe that this amazing night of dancing of an early birthday gift from God! I even got to dance with all the guys that I’ve been wanting to dance with since I began dancing again a few weeks ago: Philip, Herb, Vincent and another chap whose name I never got. The unknown chap is a sharp dresser and has a very good frame and leads well, too. Vincent has a very good frame and leads well, too. I love to dance Hustle with Herb because he challenges me because I don’t know Hustle that well. I enjoy dancing with Lou. I think that’s his name; he’d never let me hear the end of it if he found out that I don’t remember his name. πŸ™‚ Β I was disappointed that Tony wasn’t there to dance the Waltz with and neither was this new guy Jerry. As always, Nino kept me plenty busy on the dance floor. I can always count on Nino to dance with me every Friday, after all, Nino was the first to every ask me to dance! Β And the rest…is history. πŸ™‚

9 thoughts on “Sweaty Dancer

Leave a Reply

