Hero

When I was a child, I never really had a hero. To me, a hero was someone that you wanted to be or to be like and I never really felt that way about anyone. Sure, there were people that I admired, but in the back of my mind, I thought, if I don’t know this person, why would I want to be like them?

The closest I ever came to having a hero would be Rick Springfield because he had a successful acting career and music career, two things I desperately wanted to do with my life. Yeah, I’m dating myself here and “success” was different back in those days.

When I got a little older, rock music took hold of my heart (and never let go) and I wanted more than anything to be a rock star…the first black female rock star, history-making! Growing up, I listened to all the “hair bands”. I even joined my high school newspaper writing reviews for up-and-coming rock bands. Let me also state that I wanted to be a photographer as well, kind of my “back-up plan” in case the singing didn’t work out. If I can’t head a rock band then I can take photos of them for Metal Edge magazine.

When the show ‘Behind The Music’ came out on VH1, I (along with the rest of the world) got an inside look at what really goes on in the music business, especially rock music, and I was so glad that I didn’t idolize these people because just as I suspected as a child, their lives were complete train wrecks, and on my worst day, I was living in the lap of luxury compared to what many of these people were going through.

Now, with that being said, I don’t hate or knock rock music because it saved my life! I still listen to some of it today, but will admit that most secular music is grossly inappropriate. I love the way that Jesus reaches out His hand in an effort to save you by any means necessary. I won’t go into the details of how rock music saved my life because you can read about it in my autobiography (should it ever get published).

When I started this post, I had no intentions of writing all of this, but I can only assume that it has all come out to perhaps help someone else. Jesus is the ONLY person we should ever want to be like, emulate, imitate or set up as our hero. Jesus is the only hero there is because He is the only perfect person there is.

image (33)

 

Leave a Reply

